An Easter pausing and Spring’s arrival

Spring is here; officially. And we felt spring-like last week. Easter family gatherings, chocolate eggs, daffodils and warmth! Writing was put aside, for a short while… and so, the blog has a gap, a break in time if you like.

P1100089

The first signs of spring, and it’s yellow (with purple-peach, snow-less mountains!)

In the lead up to Easter a telecommunications mishap meant no internet connection for two weeks and in that time I was refreshed by walking without purpose, catching jobs that had skipped away from me, and baking and bed making for influxes of family and friends.

Wired up to (or wireless with) administration, chasing news of a wider world, and ethernet interactions steal time viciously. Removal away from keyboard and smart-phone allows a return to less complicated ways, and an opportunity to think about other things, otherness and other places, and remember a time before the confusions of electronic ‘webbery’, when other senses were heeded. And I have enjoyed this reminder of how it was years BC (before computer) and time spent BLT (before lap top). And while pathering along now familiar trackways I have been thinking about other webs and connections, paths, margins, edge lands, liminal states, and wondering what it means to be detached from our natural surroundings. (More on this another time.)

I usually follow the same route for the first walk of the day; it has become almost routine, checking croft fields and sea states, tasting the weather and meeting the needs of our young dog who wishes, with every fibre of his being, to play with his rope and ball along the sandy shore, away from sheepy distractions. There is no mobile phone signal here so I am conscious of a discharging, a separateness. But I do not feel that I am ‘in the wild’, in spite of huge vistas across the sea or to the mountains, and although I might not meet or even see another soul. Familiarity, I suppose, with the hour or two spent enjoying sights I love cancels out any sensation of ‘wildness’ or ‘otherness’.

Our coastal and mountain landscape is, however, wild to many. When I first visited here as a student the route to Red Point, along a small road from Gairloch, through tiny settlements (Shieldaig, Badachro, Port Henderson, Opinan, South Erradale), through woodland and croftland, seemed wild. Beyond Badachro treeless, heather-clad peat-bog and boulder land stretched as far as the eye could see. Once covered by ancients forests, this landscape, cleared first by prehistoric peoples and maintained by centuries of burning and grazing, felt untamed and remote to me then, in spite of knowing its history and understanding its becoming. Many years later, now living within this landscape, that feeling of wildness has retreated east to high mountain tops or west to open seas. What is it then, this tantalising, ephemeral, hard-to-grasp sensing of ‘wild’?

Yet step away from now well-trodden tracks and I immediately feel the feral. No more than half a mile away from the croft house is a sliver of bright sandy beach, hard pressed against very steep “wannabe” cliffs of rock, loose boulders, tough heather tussocks and tumbling burns. Invisible from the road and crofting township, it is an interesting scramble or sliding plummet down to the sea, only 60 metres, but steep enough to regret a trip and gather muddy, wet hands, knees and bottoms. Down on the sandy shore comes an overwhelming sense of being out of time and place, of separateness, of wildness; yet I am still so close to home! Decorating the little bay are huge boulders of  rusty-red Torridonian sandstones, covered in deep green, olive and brown seaweeds, or crusted with barnacles. The sand itself is peachily crimson, fine and clean, and it glows brightly as each wave recedes. Westwards across the sea, views are familiar ones, but the little bay feels disconnected, remote… wild.

P1100169

A hidden gem of wildness, peach red sands and brightly coloured boulders

P1100174

Rust red sandstone coated with deep green algae

P1100649

Barnacles galore

P1100646

Yellow-orange painted rocks

 

Here in the top right hand corner of Britain, nothing gets wilder than the weather. Winter wickedness may have returned with some spice over the last 72 hours, bringing snow, hail and icy winds, but we have had a tantalising soupçon of spring. And rather than vibrant greens the last two weeks have been yellow! Like a balmy, scented and chirruping blanket the days have been awakened by pale, lemon-cream sunrises and settled calmly to bed by warm, melon-gold sunsets. We have been coddled by gentle breezes, warm airs and calm, murmuring waters. The gift of warmth and sun has tickled marzipan scented, vibrant gorse blooms and bee-covered creamy catkins, illuminating fuzzy, yellow bumble bee bottoms and tiny, gold-breasted song birds, and raising up proud, yet delicate, cowslips. Out to sea honey golden sea mists have swirled and eddied, creating magical fantasies of Hebridean gneiss, now near, now far. A sense of wild subdued by calm.

Honey coloured clouds and mists shield the Outer Hebrides while the sea glistens brightly

Honey coloured clouds and mists shield the Outer Hebrides while the sea glistens brightly

But today, the lemon posset of spring has been hurled aside by bleak, biting northerly winds carrying snow. The mountains which had begun to look less wild, more benign, are once more white and fearsomely, fiercely gazing about. Yet the cuckoos are here and the first swallow is dipping and diving madly in the rollicking winds. Wild spring has arrived in the Highlands.

P1110150

Our snow covered mountains brood in the late afternoon spring sunshine, a great contrast to last week’s green and yellow backdrop

 

 

 

About Annie O'G Worsley

I'm a mum of four, gran, writer, crofter & Professor of 'Environmental Change'. I now live on a small farm (known as a croft) by the sea in a place surrounded by the ‘Great Wilderness’ mountains of the Scottish NW Highlands. I was a full-time academic, a geographer, but I decided to go feral and follow my dream of living a smaller, simpler, wilder life. I have always loved wild places. As a child I was inspired by tales of Trader Horn (my great-great-great uncle Alfred Aloysius Smith) told to me by my mother. Trader Horn spent his life wandering, mostly in Africa. I too, love stravaiging (Gaelic for wandering) and spent time in the Highlands of Papua New Guinea as a young researcher, living with tribes there. Although I spent years researching and teaching university students about environments, processes and habitats, I am discovering much, much more exploring the wilds around me. In moving away from scientific writing, I have rediscovered my wilder self and have a much deeper, truer understanding of nature than I ever had before. My work is published by Elliott & Thompson in a series of anthologies called 'Seasons' and I am currently writing a book about this extraordinary place. I continue to write academic papers with my research colleagues but I am developing new skills including landscape photography and painting. And of course, I still love to wander.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Easter pausing and Spring’s arrival

  1. alisondunlop says:

    Annie, I’m thrilled to find your blog here. We are neighbours (I’m in Opinan)…. and your writing is such a delight and absolutely wonderful. I look forward to reading more and more of your posts and perhaps meeting on the beach one day soon!

    Like

  2. Pingback: A sea-eagle-wild | Red River Croft

Leave a Reply

